Page 1472 in Whiskey Peak
first Latest
Page 1472


first Previous Next Latest
Average Rating: 5
Number of people who have voted: 2


By the same author as Grand Line 3.5
Comments:

Phantomdemon




5th Aug 2020, 12:19 AM

Behold, the DPS Tank.

Many remember the DPS part, but one should never forget the "Tank" part of the equation.

edit delete reply

Ringmaster




5th Aug 2020, 2:40 AM

It was at this moment he knew...

He fucked up, getting into melee with the crazy bastard who fights with three swords.

edit delete reply

BakaGrappler




5th Aug 2020, 3:25 AM
"Tell a Story: Lost Momentum"

You stack the deck. You prep the skills. You unleash your full potential that you've been working towards since the beginning.

And then you fail.

Share a story about that great moment... that just didn't live up to the build up.

edit delete reply

Mysterylegos




5th Aug 2020, 4:37 AM

Playing Starfinder, as a mechanic with a prototype weapon. I spend a turn aligning my weapon with the enemy to boost damage. I cast my single spell, supercharge weapon, to add 4d6. Next turn I use overcharge to add another d6 while attacking. I'm attacking for 2d8+18+5d6.

I rolled a 3

edit delete reply

JACK




5th Aug 2020, 5:35 AM

Once, in a 3.5 oneshot I joined, the DM had a very dim view of 3.5 splatbooks. He considered all the ToB classes, as well as the psionic classes to be OP.

So, in response, I made an ursine swarm druid to show him what one could do with just the PHB. I summoned bears, had a pet bear, and turned into a bear, I flooded the battlefield with bears, which would have been very effective if a single bear could have rolled above 5 for the four rounds the full swarm was out. Which they couldn't.

The bears still made a very effective meat shield, their high HP meant that the rest of the party could pick off the hobgoblins we were fighting with impunity, but my attempt to teach the DM about 3.5 failed, instead all I taught him was that i was a very unlucky man

edit delete reply

Halosty45

Halosty45




5th Aug 2020, 1:03 PM

The problem with ToB and psionic stuff is it's not balanced to be able to defend against that stuff. Most monsters have no response to psionic stuff or giving an entire team extra turns, and the only way to get real responses to that stuff is to just throw class levels onto monsters... and if you're throwing class levels onto monsters you want more class levels instead of monster HD, so you just get humanoid races and do humanoid(ish) vs humanoids. That's not necessarily a wrong way to play d&d, but that leaves out most of the interesting monsters because they weren't built to be capable of fighting stuff with very different rules.

edit delete reply

Kittoradra




6th Aug 2020, 12:01 PM

Whenever I hear people complain about Psionics, I can't help but be reminded of Punpun. He's probably the best example of "the game itself is horribly unbalanced already, with just core, if you know how to look"

edit delete reply

Guest




5th Aug 2020, 6:53 AM

As a party we were standing before this big, bad boss. His defense was insane and we couldn't even scratch him at all.


Therefor we decided that I should use everything in one shoot to kil him, ...

Then it stated (I had 4 rounds while my teammates all had only 3 therefor I was using 1 round to go in position, 2 rounds to aim and prepare skills for additional damange, chance to success, ... and wanted to shoot in the fourth round when the enemy had exhausted his defense.

To bad the enemy died in the 3rd round because the newest player in group had an critical success at attacking, the the big bad boss had an critical failor in defending and somehow get 1 point damage from the new player and killed himself afterwards...



Well - I one-shooted the minions he still had then, but it was still a waste of ressources...

edit delete reply

Guestron




5th Aug 2020, 12:26 PM

I'll tell a slightly different story. I was playing a barbarian (Orthac, son of Orthac) in (I think) Descent into Avernus at my local 5e Adventurer's League.

We get to the first dungeon boss fight after losing a cultist assassin earlier on that had the ability to turn invisible, so she's annoying the party with potshots at our ranged support while I and the Fighter are trying to melee the boss.

I use Reckless Attack for the sweet, sweet advantage... and double nat 1.

But the story doesn't end here. We're getting close to closing time for the store and the DM checks a few things going on in the melee and asks me to roll again with disadvantage.

I, terrified that I'm now attacking a party member by accident, roll 19 and 20.

I roll pretty good on damage, not knowing who I just hit with my greataxe... and am informed that I lost hold on my swing, my greataxe flew back 15 feet and decapitated the invisible cultist assassin.

edit delete reply

Halosty45

Halosty45




5th Aug 2020, 1:05 PM

Sometimes, you just gotta be lucky :p

edit delete reply

Otaku

Otaku




5th Aug 2020, 1:26 PM

Not a story, but the general thing we all feared hearing the GM say:

*thunk*

We usually were playing using GURPS, and if you're not familiar with it, it has "active defenses". You still roll to hit while attacking, and range, distance, size, etc. affect the difficulty of that roll but it doesn't (usually) include what your opponent is actively doing. Depending on the nature of the attack, they can attempt to Dodge, Block, or Parry.

When the GM says "thunk", it means you hit - they did not Dodge or Parry or Block - but not hard enough to do any actual damage. Like most systems, GURPS has you roll your own damage, so you know how hard you hit... and "thunk" means it wasn't good enough to break through their armor, at least in that location. Either this wasn't someone you were supposed to fight, or the GM wants you to actually think about the thunk and use (more) strategy in attacking.

edit delete reply

Phantomdemon




6th Aug 2020, 10:46 AM

Hang on..."Turn falling damage into attack damage."

He...didn't get to do attack damage though. He failed to meet the AC.

So, does that mean he takes all that fall damage?

edit delete reply

Generic Greg




10th Aug 2020, 1:13 AM

Depending on DM, it would yes. In this circumstance, you can imagine since he's STILL striking Zoro, but not making it past the defenses, the momentum is STILL transferred to Zoro thus avoiding taking the damage himself.

edit delete reply

Leave a Comment